Institutional Review Board Information

          The Institutional Review Board (IRB) is governed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH)’s Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP). Edinboro University of Pennsylvania has a Federalwide Assurance (#00001781), which indicates that Edinboro University is committed to comply with the requirements of 45 CFR part 46.

          EU IRB Membership

          The current members on the IRB are:

          Dr. Elisabeth Joyce, English (Centennial Hall, 237) – IRB Chair
          Dr. Erik A. Bentsen, Counseling, School Psychology, & Special Education
          Dr. Ron Craig, Psychology
          Dr. Joyce Jagielo, Psychology – Faculty Senate Research Chair
          Dr. Katherine Krival (2016-2017), Speech, Language and Hearing
          Dr. Dean Maynard, Assistant Executive Director/Director, Special Education, Northwest Tri-County Intermediate Unit (IU5), Community Member
          Dr. Amy McClune, Nursing
          Dr. George Richards (on leave 2016-2017), Criminal Justice, Anthropology and Forensic Studies
          Dr. Ruth Stauffer, Health and Physical Education

          To contact any member of the IRB, please forward the request to

          EU IRB Meeting Schedule

          The EU IRB meets the first Tuesday of the month from September to May at 8 a.m. in Reeder 324. Completed applications must be submitted no later than 10 days in advance in order to be reviewed at that month's IRB meeting

          Summer Reviews

          The EU IRB meets twice in the summer, in June and August, for review of protocols requiring full review. Expedited and exempt reviews will be considered by the IRB over the summer but may require a longer review time.