ASL Logo

Office of Adult Student Services

405 Scotland Road
211 Pogue Student Center
Edinboro, PA 16444
(814) 732-2701
Fax (814) 732-2909

Office Hours:
Mon. - Fri., 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
(Or other times by appointment)

Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube

Alpha Sigma Lambda


Both nationally and at Edinboro University, adult students achieve great academic success.  We recognize that achievement in several ways, including the Honors Program, eligibility for certain scholarships, Deans List, graduation honors, and membership in academic honor societies.  Students who have high academic achievements are honored each spring at the University's Celebration of Excellence.  In addition, adult students are invited to be members of Alpha Sigma Lambda.

With over 300 chartered chapters, Alpha Sigma Lambda is the oldest and largest chapter-based honor society for adult students.  This national organization is devoted to the advancement of learning and recognition of superior scholarship and leadership in adult learners who accomplish academic excellence while facing competing interests of family, community, and work.  For the adult student, the Society stands as an inspiration for continuing scholastic growth, and is a builder of pride through recognition.

Edinboro University's chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda is Eta Upsilon Pi.  Eligibility criteria for membership includes:

12 credit hours earned in liberal arts and science courses
24 credit hours earned at Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Be in the top 10% of the class (based on number of earned credits) AND a minimum Q.P.A. of 3.2

Students may be enrolled in either baccalaureate or associate degree programs and can be full or part-time students.  Those who meet the basic eligibility criteria are invited to membership in this prestigious organization.  New members are inducted at a ceremony in the spring of each year.

For more information about Alpha Sigma Lambda, please visit the organization's national website at:

2012 Inductees

Inductees from left: Cynthia Monaco, Jennifer Saucier, AnnMarie Daubert, William Jones, Jennifer Cwiklinski, Amber Ketcham, Eric Parmarter, and Joan Roberts

2012 Graduates

Graduating members from left: Roberta Volgstadt, Cheryl Trabert, Joan Roberts, Cynthia Monaco, Alexa Markiewicz, Jane Kauffman, AnnMarie Daubert, and Eric Parmarter