Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube

Faculty and Staff

 

Richard E. Deal
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2000
Office:  202 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-1733 
Email: rdeal@edinboro.edu
Specialty:  GIS, Cartography, Political Geography,  and Geography of Small Island States

 

Karen S. Eisenhart
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado 2004
Office: 231 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2398
Email: keisenhart@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Physical Geography, Conservation of Natural Resources, Dendroecology, and Landscape Ecology

 

Baher A.Ghosheh
Professor
Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo, 1988
Office: 243 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2207
Email: ghosheh@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Cultural Geography, International Trade, Middle East, and Japan

 

Jeff J. Gryta
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Penn State, 1987
Office: 210 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2803
Email: grytaj@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Geomorphology, Hydrology, Glacial Geology, and Environmental Geology

 

David W. Hurd
Professor and Planetarium Director
Ph.D., Cleveland State, 1997
Office: 169 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2493
Email: dhurd@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Atmospheric and Space Science

 

Tadesse Kidane-Mariam
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa, 2001
Office: 200 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-1576
Email: tadesse@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Human Geography, Urban and Regional Development, Environmental Management, and Africa

Henry W. Lawrence
Professor
Ph.D., Oregon, 1985
Office: 204 Cooper  Hall 
Phone: 732-1572
Email: hlawrence@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Conservation and Resource Management, Environmental Planning, and Latin America

 

Dr. Wook Lee
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.,  Ohio State University
Office: 225 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2291
Email: wlee@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Urban and Transportation Geography, Urban and Regional Planning, GIS, Spatial Analysis / Quantitative methods, and East Asia / North America

 

Kerry A. Moyer
Professor
Ph.D., Penn State University, 1993
Office: 208 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2454
Email: kmoyer@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Dr. Moyer is a meteorologist who teaches Atmospheric and Space Science, Meteorology I, and Meteorology II. His research interests focus on air-sea interaction and lake-effect snow.

 

Laurie A. Parendes
Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D., Oregon State, 1997
Office: 126d & 212 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2840
Email: lparendes@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Biogeography, Environmental Issues, Conservation of Natural Resources, and Landscape Ecology

 
Joseph Reese
Professor
Ph.D, University of Texas at Austin, 1995
Office: 245 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2814
Email: jreese@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Structural Geology, Tectonics, Earth History, Precambrian Geology of North America, Mountain Building Processes



Eric Straffin
Professor
Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln, 2000
Office: 229 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-1574
Email: estraffin@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Dr. Straffin studies Geomorphology and Sedimentology. He teaches Introductory Geology and upper level courses in Quaternary Geology, Sedimentology/Stratigraphy, and Soil Geomorphology.

 

Dale Tshudy
Professor

Ph.D., Kent State, 1993
Office: 235 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2453
Email: dtshudy@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Prof. Dale Tshudy is a paleontologist specializing in crustacean taxonomy and evolution. He teaches Oceanography, Paleontology, Field Studies, and upper Environmental Geology.

 

Brian S. Zimmerman
Professor
Ph.D., Washington State, 1991
Office: 237 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-1575
Email: bzimmerman@edinboro.edu
Specialty: Dr. Brian Zimmerman is a geologist who teaches Mineralogy, Petrology, and Geology of National Parks. His current research focusses on the geologic history and environmental restoration of Edinboro Lake.


Penny Tingley
Department Secretary
Office: 126 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732 - 2529
Email: ptingley@edinboro.edu 

 

 

 

 


Dr. Richard Deal

  
Dr. Karen Eisenhart


  
Dr. Baher Ghosheh

  
Dr. Jeffrey Gryta

  
Dr. David Hurd 

  
Dr. Tadesse Kidane-Mariam

  
Dr. Henry Lawrence

 
Dr. Wook Lee


  
Dr. Kerry Moyer

  
Dr. Laurie Parendes

  
Dr. Joseph Reese

 
Dr. Eric Straffin

 

  
Dr. Dale Tshudy 

 

 
Dr. Brian Zimmerman

 

Ms. Penny Tingley