Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube

History, Anthropology, and World Languages Department Faculty

 

Chair: Umeme Sababu (a.k.a. Andre Smith), Assistant Professor
B.S., Northern Illinois University, 1982
M.A., Cornell, 1984

Specialties: African-American, African Diaspora

Office: 142 Hendricks Hall
Telephone:(814) 732-1231
SMITHA@edinboro.edu


Lenore T. Barbian, Associate Professor
B.A., Northwestern University, 1985
M.A. and Ph.D. University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1988, 1994.

Specialties: Forensic Anthropology, Paleopathology, Museum Studies

Office: 141 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-1782
LBARBIAN@edinboro.edu


Ihor Bemko, Associate Professor
B.A., M.P.A., Texas Tech University, 1979, 1982
Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 1991

Specialties: Immigration, Recent US, New South, Texas, Cliometrics

Office: 237 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-2212
IBEMKO@edinboro.edu


Xin-Zhu Chen, Associate Professor
B.A., South China Normal University, 1982
M.A., American Culture, Bowling Green State University, 1985
M.B.A., Ohio State University, 1988
Ph.D., Bowling Green State University, 1998

Specialties: East Asia, Economics

Office: 206 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-1624
XCHEN@edinboro.edu


Janusz Czejdo, Professor
B.A., University of Warsaw, Poland, 1978
M.A., University of Warsaw, Poland, 1979
Ph.D., Brigham Young University, 1989

Specialties: Russian

Office: 118 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-2687
jczejdo@edinboro.edu


Stacy Dunn, Instructor
B.A., University of Cincinnati, 2002
M.A., Tulane University, 2006

Specialties: New World Archaeology, Architecture, and Central Coast of Peru

Office: 140 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-1623
sdunn@edinboro.edu


Amanda M. Frantz-Mamani, Instructor
B.A., The Ohio State University, 1985
M.A., University of Cincinnati, 1988

Specialties: Spanish

Office: 112 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-1133
frantzmamani@edinboro.edu


Armorel Gruber, Instructor
B.A., University of Sheffield, U. K., 2000
M.A., University of Nebraska, 2002

Specialties: French

Office: 143 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-1132
agruber@edinboro.edu


Leo Gruber, Associate Professor
B.A., Southwest Texas State University, 1990
M.A., Texas Tech University, 1995
Ph.D., University of Nebraska, 2001

Specialties: German

Office: 111 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-2512
lgruber@edinboro.edu


Dennis Hickey, Associate Professor
B.A., M.A., Michigan State University, 1973, 1975
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1985

Specialties: Africa

Office: 137 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-2577
DHICKEY@edinboro.edu


Jerra Jenrette , Professor
B.A., Mars Hill College, 1983
M.A., Appalachian State University, 1985
Ph.D., West Virginia University, 1996

Specialties: Women, Latin America

Office: 146 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-2575
JJENRETTE@edinboro.edu


Joseph Laythe, Professor
B.A., Carroll College, 1987
M.A., Portland State University, 1992
Ph.D., University of Oregon, 1996

Specialties: US West, Urban, Police

Office: 106 Hendricks Hall
Telephone:(814) 732-1230
JLAYTHE@edinboro.edu


Steven Nachman, Professor
B.A. University of Pennsylvania, 1967
M.Phil., Ph. D. Yale University, 1969, 1978

Specialties: Sociocultural Anthropology, Medical and Clinical Anthropology, Applied Anthropology, Urban Anthropology, Symbolic Behavior, Comparative Religion, Psychological Anthropology (including mental health, perception), Culture Change, Migrants and Refugees, Ethnicity, History of Anthropology, Ethnic Arts, Play, Anthropological Fiction, Anthropology of Aging, Oceania, Caribbean.

Office: Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-2478
SNACHMAN@edinboro.edu


Ronald Spiller, Assistant Professor
B.A., Northwestern State University of Louisiana, 1970
M.A., Stephen F. Austin State University, 1986
Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 1993

Specialties: US Military, Civil War, 19th Century US

Office: 119 Hendricks Hall
Telephone: (814) 732-2966
RSPILLER@edinboro.edu


The mailing address for any member of the Department:

[Name]
Department of History and Anthropology
Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Edinboro, PA 16444


Return to the Department Home Page.

Send comments to Webmaster

updated 23sep14---ib