Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube

News Detail


Edinboro University to honor faculty and staff Monday during employee recognition ceremony

143 individuals serving 1,914 years!


EDINBORO, Pa. – Edinboro University will honor its faculty and staff Monday, March 26, during the University’s annual Spring Employee Recognition Ceremony at the Dr. Frank G. Pogue Student Center.

In addition to naming the 2012 Staff Member of the Year, Interim President James D. Moran and University vice presidents and deans will recognize retiring faculty and staff, along with University employees observing service anniversaries ranging from five-to-35 years.

The ceremony will begin promptly at 11 a.m.

The 143 employees who will receive service medallions served the University with distinction for a total of 1,915 years.

Individually, Ms. Carla Gutting, of the Office of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Philip Ginnetti, has been selected as the University’s Staff Member of the Year for 2012. Gutting, who received multiple nominations for the award, also provided valuable support services for the Edinboro University Presidential Search Committee during the past year and previously as well.

The “Staff Member of the Year Award” is presented annually to an employee who has served the University community above and beyond expectations, and with exemplary service. In addition to a commemorative plaque, Gutting will also receive a reserved parking place of her choice at any campus location for one year.

Interim President Moran will also recognize employees who retired or will retire this year for their service to Edinboro University, as well as new members of the faculty and staff who began their employment at Edinboro last fall.

Faculty academic accomplishments during the year, as well as the past year’s recipients of the University’s coveted Purple Thistle Award, will be recognized as well.

The annual Spring ceremony affords University officials the opportunity to express their sincere appreciation to faculty and staff for their many accomplishments and contributions to Edinboro and its students during the previous academic year.

In addition to members of the Edinboro University Council of Trustees and members of other University boards, President-Select Julie Wollman will also attend Monday’s ceremony and be on hand to congratulate the award recipients.

A reception will immediately follow the ceremony.