Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube

News Detail


Edinboro University faculty, staff, students to celebrate Women’s History Month with myriad campus activities

Kicks off Sunday, March 3


Edinboro University’s faculty, staff and students will come together for a variety of events in March to celebrate Women’s History Month.

This year’s Women’s History Month line-up includes a dozen and a half dynamic campus events highlighted by a March 7 panel discussion with three Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education university presidents – all women.

Other highlighted panel discussions and lectures include Women in Flight; Religion and Gender; Tituba: The Reluctant Witch of Salem; Real Desperate Housewives: How So-Called “Reality TV” is Bad for Women; and even Women of Zombie Cinema!

With one presentation seeking the address the question, “Can Women be Sexists?”, the month features additional equally fascinating, motivating and controversial topics, according Dr. Nina Thumser, Chair of the Edinboro University Women’s History Month 2013 Committee.

The PASSHE Female President’s Panel scheduled for Thursday, March 7, at 2 p.m. in the Frank G. Pogue Student Center’s Multipurpose Room, includes Edinboro’s first female president, Dr. Julie E. Wollman, and Clarion University President Karen Whitney and Slippery Rock University President Cheryl Norton. Moderated by Edinboro’s Dr. Rhonda Matthews, of the Sociology Department, panel members will discuss women in leadership and field audience questions.

Women’s History Month programming has not only grown significantly at Edinboro during the past several years, but also has become extremely popular with student, faculty and staff audiences of both genders.   

All Women’s History Month events are free and open to the public. All are sponsored by Edinboro’s Women’s Studies Committee in collaboration with Edinboro’s History, Anthropology, and World Languages Department; Student Government Association; Office of the President; Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Admissions Office; Math and Computer Sciences Department; Math Club; and History Club.

In addition to Chair Thumser, members of the Women’s History Month 2013 Committee include Dr. Jerra Jenrette, Ms. Vicky Wetsell, Ms. Thasia Frazzini, Dr. Martha Donkor, Dr. Rhonda Matthews, Ms. Susan Woodland, and Ms. Sierra Stakes.