Quick Links
Middle States Newsletter
Site Team Visit Dates

The Middle States Evaluation Team will be on campus March 30 – April 2, 2014.

Visit Schedule | Site Team Roster

Self Study Events

Team Chair Visit
November 17-18, 2013

Committee Meetings

Coordinating Committee Meetings 
every other Week, 1-3 pm, starting August 21, 2013

AY 2013-14 Steering Committee Meetings will be held on:
Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2013 
Monday, Nov. 18, 2013
Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2013
Wednesday, Mar. 5, 2014

Data and Information

Committee members access the information to address research questions and communicate about the self study process in D2L.

Self Study Timeline

The process includes development of research questions, gathering of evidence and reports on standards, submission of reports on standards, drafting self-study document, review of self-study draft by University community, site visit, and MSCHE reaffirmation decision.

Reflection and Renewal … Edinboro University

The MSCHE Self-Study’s effort is being led by three Co-chairs, a Coordinating Committee, and a Steering Committee. The three co-chairs, Dr. Michael Hannan, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor Patricia Hillman, Professor and Chair, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, and Dr. Cynthia Legin-Bucell, Professor and Chair, Department of Psychology, are responsible for all aspects of this process.  The three co-chairs in conjunction with Ms. Judith Kubeja, Senior Executive Associate to the Provost, Dr. Brian Zimmerman, Co-chair, University Planning Committee and Professor of Geosciences, and Mr. Sean Bliley, Director of Institutional Research and Assessment constitute the Self-Study Coordinating Committee which is responsible for guiding this pursuit.  It has been the efforts of the Coordinating Committee that determined how to structure the tasks of the fourteen standards into an organizational framework that would best fit our institutional structure and current functioning.  As a result of those deliberations, six working groups were developed: 

            Mission, Goals and Institutional Assessment Standards:  1, 7
Planning, Resources and Governance  Standards:  2, 3, 4
Faculty, Administration, and Integrity Standards:  5, 6, 10
Admissions and Retention Standards:  8, 9
Curriculum Standards:  11, 12, 13
Student Learning Outcomes Standard:    14

These groups undertake the task of evaluating the fulfillment of the fundamental elements of each standard and the resulting research questions.     

The Self-Study Steering Committee, whose membership includes members of the Coordinating Committee, University Council of Trustees members Mr. John Horan and Mr. Ronald Steele and the Working Group Co-chairs:  

Dr. Brian Zimmerman and Dr. Naod Kebede Mission, Goals and Institutional Assessment
Mr. Sean Bliley and Dr. Scott Miller Planning, Resources and Governance
Dr. Denise Ohler and Dr. Gary Levine Faculty, Administration, and Integrity
Ms. Missy Manning and Mr. Tim Pilewski Admissions and Retention
Dr. Jerra Jenrette and Dr. Sue Curtin Curriculum
Dr. Elisabeth Joyce and Dr. Gwen Price
Student Learning Outcomes

are overseeing this process and are responsible for its integrity.  Additionally, the collaborations of the Steering Committee will facilitate and strengthen the Working Groups’ abilities to understand the relationships among the various University constituencies and their duties.