Edinboro University recognizes Keating as 2022 Staff Member of the Year


OTY Keating

University also recognizes faculty, employee service milestone anniversaries

EDINBORO, Pa. – Lisa Keating, an 8-year veteran of Edinboro University’s College of Science and Health Professions, was named Staff Member of the Year on April 21, during the annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon.

Keating, clerk typist for Biology, Chemistry, Geosciences and Physics, was presented that award, which recognizes an employee who demonstrates an uncommon commitment to students and to the achievement of Edinboro’s goals, objectives and priorities.

During Thursday’s luncheon, Edinboro administrators also recognized 91 faculty and staff for their work anniversaries – measuring a combined 1,625 years of service.

“You are all recruiters for our university, and the quality of your work helps make Edinboro a better place to be for these students and supports their retention and progression to the ultimate goal of graduation,” said Dr. Dale, interim president of Edinboro University. “And each of you plays an important part in providing the opportunity and support for our students.”

Keating was nominated for the award due to her attention in helping students apply for scholarships, build resumes, locate internships and reminding students about events.

Dr. Baher Ghosheh, professor in Edinboro’s Geosciences program, submitted one of the nominations for Keating. In his nomination letter, Ghosheh praised Keating’s prompt, efficient and pleasant interactions with students and faculty – and creating a welcoming environment for all visitors.

Keating not only provides academic and registration information for visitors, but she also provides nourishment to the department through snack and beverage stations,

“For many, this is the place get a jolt of java, a banana, a breakfast bar or a treat on the go,” said Ghosheh, who has taught at Edinboro since 1989. “Some cannot afford lunch, and Lisa provides an essential service for so many students.”

According to Ghosheh, Keating assists students with Student Hardship Fund scholarship money and making appointments with the Ghering Health Center.

“To me, Lisa embodies what it means to be a service-oriented and student-focused university employee,” he said. “In over 30 years of working at Edinboro, I have never encountered anyone that does what Lisa does to help students, feed them, care for them and ensure that they feel they belong here at Edinboro University.”

Dr. Peter Kuvshinikov, associate professor in Edinboro’s Physics and Technology Department, also submitted a nomination for Keating. Serving as president of the University Faculty Senate, Kuvshinikov credited Keating’s work with the faculty body and creating a sense of community within Cooper Hall – home of a majority of Edinboro science programs.

“Lisa has always put the students’ needs first,” Kuvshinikov said. “The executive office in Cooper is a place where students can take a break from their classes and feel they are valued.”

Employee Milestone Anniversaries

 5 years

Donald Benson

Michael Chase

Wayne Hawley

Kelly Kahle-Simonette

Christopher LaFuria

Natalie Laniewicz

Karabo Legwaila

John Matters

Diane Myers

Katie Spangenberg

Charles Thomas

Mingli Yang

10 years

Melanie Baker

Colleen Bessetti-Barrett

Amy Eperthener

Jessica Hippely

Karen Lindeman

Elisa Mason

Lucille Morrison

Cassandra Reese

Elaine Rinfrette

Kristin Webber

Whitney Wesley

William Koehler

15 years

Barbara Abbott

Scott Allen

Lenore Barbian

Craig Cummins

Matthew Foradori

Nancy Frambes

Ana Frank

John Hoggard

Brett Hollabaugh

Julie Kirk

Richard Lloyd

Brenda Marquis

Rena McCartney

Brianne McClellan

Peter McLaughlin

Douglas Puharic

Susan Skalko

Ruth Stauffer

Carl Timko

Kelly Vitelli

Dietrich Wegner

20 years

Brenda Abreu-Baker

Jeffery Bartone

Daniel Bennett

Kevin Courtright

James Fisher

Philomena Gill

Robert Hass

Kitty Knight

Judith Magee

Susan Packard

Christopher Rhodes

James Roberts

Corinne Schaeffer

Sandra Stoll

David Tucker

25 years

Lisa Austin

Robert Aylsworth

Ross Brumagin

Jeffrey Charlton

Richard Erion

Tammie Fausnaught

Linda Harrison

Terri Herman

Charles Johnson

Gary Kagiavas

Timothy Meyer

Thomas Mitchell

Delbert Rounds

Kimberly Toy

Lisa Unico

Cynthia Waldinger

30 years

Suzanne Amendolara

Ralph Boyles

Francis Demaske

Deborah DuBartell

Kenneth Felker

Amanda Frantz-Mamani

Gary Labine

Susan Labine

Joseph Molnar

Gregory Morrow

Anthony Peyronel

Anne Quinn

Howard Wilson

40 years

Howard Lyon