Fighting Scots recognized at club/organization awards



Edinboro University’s Student Engagement Division hosted the 2021 Club/Organization Award Recognition Program on Saturday in Louis C. Cole Auditorium – Memorial Hall.

The ceremony kicked off with a welcome by David Goodwill, director of Student Engagement and Leadership Development; presentation of the colors by Edinboro University ROTC cadets Junkin, Rudd, Sornberger and Spaulding; and singing of the national anthem by Brenden Brzozowski.

Masters of ceremony Caleb Szymoniak and Tehya Thorpe then took the stage to introduce Amanda Brown Sissem, associate vice president for Advancement and Alumni Engagement and campus administrator; Shawn Hoke, assistant vice president for Student Affairs and Campus Life; and Emily Muniz, president of Edinboro’s Student Government Association.

The following clubs, organizations and individuals were nominated for their outstanding contributions to Edinboro (winners designated with an asterisk):

Fighting Scots Award
Highland Ambassadors*
University Programming Board*

MacCato Award
Alec Beatty
Kaley Berger*

Outside of the Box Award
Early Childhood Club
Edinboro Equestrian Club*

Rising Star Award
Marquaysha Williams
Savannah Yonkin*

Community Impact Award
Black Student Union Association
Early Childhood Club
Kappa Kappa Psi*

Spirit of Service Award
Skylar Donlin
Ashlee Hohman*
Tehya Thorpe
Toby Trotta*

Multicultural Award

Noble Scot Award
Derrick Cook
Jayson Nickson
Rachel Scofield*

Leaders in Action Award
Highland Ambassadors
Kappa Kappa Psi
National Society for Leadership and Success
Student Nurses Organization of Edinboro*
Triathlon Club

Philanthropy of the Year
Breast Cancer Education Awareness (ZTA)
Feeding America (LXA)
Girls on the Run, ASA Foundation and Special Olympics (ASA)
March of Dimes (SSS)
Starkey Hearing Foundation and American Society for Deaf Children (DZ)

President of the Year
Katelyn Berger
Matthew Buckingham
Ashlee Hohman
Shealeigh Keller-Boozer*
Angelina Scarnati

Woman of the Year
Megan Burr
Reanna Douglas*
Samantha McGreevey
Kendall Miller
Abbey Paxson
Julia Pete

Man of the Year
Page Karsteter
Tim Roberts*

Organization of the Year
Alpha Sigma Alpha
Delta Zeta*
Lambda Chi Alpha
Sigma Sigma Sigma
Zeta Tau Alpha*

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners on this well-deserved recognition. View the photo gallery.