Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube

Faculty and Staff

 

 

Penny Tingley
Department Secretary
Office: 126 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732 - 2529
Email: ptingley@edinboro.edu 

 

Richard E. Deal
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2000
Office:  202 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-1733 
Email: rdeal@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Political Geography and GIS
Courses Taught: Cartography, GIS, Remote Sensing
Research Interests: GIS, Cartography, Political Geography, and Geography of Small Island States

 

 

Karen S. Eisenhart
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado 2004
Office: 231 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2398
Email: keisenhart@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Biogeography
Courses Taught: Physical Geography, Conservation of Natural Resources, Climatology, and Forest Geography
Research Interests: Forest dynamics and disturbance with projects in Colorado and northwestern Pennsylvania

 

 

Baher A.Ghosheh
Professor
Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo, 1988
Office: 243 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2207
Email: ghosheh@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Economic and Political Geography
Courses Taught: World Geography, Cultural Geography, Geography of Asia, and Geography of the Middle East Research Interests: Cultural Geography, International Trade, Middle East, and Japan

 

 

Jeff J. Gryta
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Penn State, 1987
Office: 210 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2803
Email: grytaj@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Geology
Courses Taught: Dynamic Earth, Hydrogeology, Geomorphology, Glacial Geology
Research Interests: Geology of Erie County

 

 

David W. Hurd
Professor and Planetarium Director
Ph.D., Cleveland State, 1997
Office: 169 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2493
Email: dhurd@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Space Science
Courses Taught: Atmospheric and Space Science
Research Interests: works with NASA in education and public outreach and with students with disabilities

 

 

Tadesse Kidane-Mariam
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa, 2001
Office: 200 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-1576
Email: tadesse@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Human Geography
Courses Taught: World Geography, Cultural Geography, Societal Issues, Principles of Urban and Regional Planning, Political Geography, and Geography of Africa
Research Interests: sustainable development, human settlements and environmental management, housing, African development, and urban and regional planning

 

Henry W. Lawrence
Professor
Ph.D., Oregon, 1985
Office: 204 Cooper  Hall 
Phone: 732-1572
Email: hlawrence@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Geography
Courses Taught: Environmental Issues, Conservation of Natural Resources, Geography of U.S. and Canada, Geography of Latin America, and Environmental Planning
Research Interests: human - environment interactions from a historical perspective

 

 

Dr. Wook Lee
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.,  Ohio State University
Office: 225 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2291
Email: wlee@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Urban and Transportation Geography and GIS
Courses Taught: World Geography, Urban Geography, Economic Geography, Population Geography, Spatial Analysis, and GIS for Business and Planning
Research Interests: urban and transportation geography, GIS applications for urban and regional issues, and spatial analysis / quantitative methods

 

 

Kerry A. Moyer
Professor
Ph.D., Penn State University, 1993
Office: 208 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2454
Email: kmoyer@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Meteorology
Courses Taught: Atmospheric and Space Science, Exploring Weather and Climate, Climatology, Meteorology I, and Meteorology II
Research Interests: air-sea interaction and lake-effect snow

 

 

Laurie A. Parendes
Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State, 1997
Office: 126d & 212 Cooper Hall 
Phone: 732-2840
Email: lparendes@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Geography
Courses Taught: Environmental Issues, Conservation of Natural Resources, Geography of Water Resources, and Biogeography
Research Interests: biogeography of invasive species, zebra mussels in Edinboro Lake / French Creek watershed

 


Joseph Reese
Professor
Ph.D, University of Texas at Austin, 1995
Office: 245 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2814
Email: jreese@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Structural Geology and Tectonics
Courses Taught: Dynamic Earth, Earth History, National Parks Geology, Our Hazardous Planet, Petrology, Regional Geology, Field Geology, Structural Geology, and Marcellus Shale Seminar
Research Interests: mountain-building processes, Earth system history and continent formation, place-based geosciences education



Eric Straffin
Professor
Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln, 2000
Office: 229 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-1574
Email: estraffin@edinboro.edu
Discipline:
Courses Taught: Introduction to Earth Environments, Dynamic Earth, Earth History, Quaternary Geology, Sedimentology/Stratigraphy, and Soil Geomorphology
Research Interests: landscape and geological responses to climate change and land use

 

 

Dale Tshudy
Professor

Ph.D., Kent State, 1993
Office: 235 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-2453
Email: dtshudy@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Paleontology
Courses Taught:
 Oceanography, Paleontology, Field Studies, and Environmental Geology

Research Interests: crustacean taxonomy and evolution

 

 

Brian S. Zimmerman
Professor and Department Chair 
Ph.D., Washington State, 1991
Office: 237 Cooper Hall
Phone: 732-1575
Email: bzimmerman@edinboro.edu
Discipline: Geology
Courses Taught: Introduction to Earth Environments, Dynamic Earth, Geology of National Parks, Mineralogy, and Petrology
Research Interests: geologic history and environmental restoration of Edinboro Lake.