Friends of Communication

Communication, Journalism and Media

Join the Friends of Communication and donate to PennWest Edinboro's Communication, Journalism and Media Department to benefit students and faculty and help facilitate effective learning.

Showcasing Alumni Success

Graduates from Edinboro's Department of Communications, Journalism and Media are enjoying a wide range of professional success all around the world.

To showcase their success, the department has created a Friends of Communication Wall of Fame in Compton Hall. Our alumni have enthusiastically responded to this new initiative by contributing $250 each to purchase a personal name plaque that is featured on the wall, with the proceeds going to a new Friends of Communication fund, which directly benefits the department and our students. Purchase a name plaque.

To update the department on your career achievements, please email Dr. Tim Thompson, department chair, at

Friends of Communication
Pictured in front of the Friends of Communications wall are alumni participants who attended a special event held on campus in their honor on April 21, 2014. They are, from left, Patricia Kennedy (Erie County chief public defender); Mike “Lou Baxter” Shoop (news director at JET 24 and FOX 66); Kim Thomas (northwest regional director at Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development); Mary Timashenka (multimedia marketing consultant at JET 24 and; Alyson Amendola Cummings (executive director at Young People’s Chorus of Erie); Matthew Cummings (assistant director of online programs in the Integrated Marketing Communications program at West Virginia University); Jim Wertz (owner/creative director of Incline Media and faculty member at PennWest Edinboro); Josh Tysiachney (director of editorial services at Allegheny College); and Emily Sinsabaugh (vice president for university relations at St. Bonaventure University).

Contact Us

Communication, Journalism and Media
208 Compton Hall
210 East Normal Street
Edinboro, PA 16444
Phone: 814-732-2444

Tim Thompson, PhD
Department Chair
208 Compton Hall
Phone: 814-732-2162